History Of Roxas
The place comprising the Municipality of Roxas was first explored by Don Luis Cusi, a merchant from Bauan, Batangas, whose sailboat was caught by a storm and drifted at Dayhagan Point between 1840-1845. In search of a shelter from the heavy rains and strong winds, he and his companions found a hut along the seashore owned by a salt maker named Isidro, nicknamed Ticling (from a bird with long legs and stooped body).
Years later, in the year 1850, Don Luis Cusi with some companions returned and settled in the place and named it Ticling in the remembrance of the hospitality of Isidro "Ticling." By 1865, the place was already cleared with large irrigated rice fields, thus, in the same year, Don Luis Cusi registered the settlement in Marinduque as a pueblo.
The pueblo of Ticling was occupied by the American troops in 1901 which forced the settlers to hide in a forested place they called Lumboy. The clearings they made later joined with the clearings in Ticling which made the settlement wider. It was around 1905 when Ticling was registered as a sitio of Mansalay.
It is in this small settlement along Ticling River where migrants from Panay Island, Romblon, and Batangas settled and formed a small community they named "Palasan" from a species of palm which used to grow abundantly in the area. The settlement grew and its inhabitants started to celebrate a yearly fiesta every January. Palasan as a place later became commonly called Paclasan.
Paclasan became increasingly important on account of its suitability for farming and its favorable location for commerce. By 1935 its growth prompted a desire among its settlers to establish their own territory and be recognized as a separate town from Mansalay.
Before the outbreak of World War II, Paclasan was already thickly populated and had many prominent political leaders. Among these leaders were Marcelo I. Cabrera and Andres E. Torrefiel, Sr. who served as mayors of Mansalay. After a meeting held at Mansalay attended by these two leaders with the Congressman of the lone district of the Province of Mindoro, Raul Leuterio, an agreement to separate Paclasan and its sitios from Mansalay as an independent municipality with the seat of government at Paclasan was reached. It was also agreed upon that the newly created municipality be named after the then President of the Republic, Manuel Acuna Roxas. However, it was President Elpidio Quirin, through Executive Order No. 181 dated October 15, 1948 who declared Roxas as an independent town from Mansalay because of the untimely death of President Roxas on April 15, 1948.
Although Executive Order No. 18, series of 1948 provided that the creation of the municipality of Roxas was to take effect on November 15, 1948, on account of a storm, it was celebrated on November 16, 1948.
On that day, November 16, 1948, a program was held at Paclasan Barrio School with the Bongabon Orchestra playing for the occasion. Speeches were delivered by the then Congressman Raul Leuterio and Governor Conrado Morente. The program was ended by the message of Mr. Andres Estrella Torrefiel, Sr. after his appointment and proclamation as Municipal Mayor of the newly created municipality of Roxas, Oriental Mindoro. The program was attended by the barrio lieutenants, the public school teachers, municipal officials and employees and the community people. The name of "PACLASAN BARRIO SCHOOL" was changed to "ROXAS CENTRAL SCHOOL". After the program, a meal was served at the residence of Mayor Andres E. Torrefiel, Sr..
The First Town Officials
The appointed officials Mayor Andres E. Torrefiel, Sr., Vice Mayor Florencio G. Taytay Sr., and the municipal councilors, Sergio Glori, Maximo Fabila, Isabelo Halili and Liberato Garfin served as municipal officials from November 16, 1948 to December 31, 1951. The Municipal Treasurer of Mansalay, Quintin B. Cay was appointed as Municipal Treasurer for Roxas. The Chief of Police was Nicanor Ladigohon and the Municipal Secretary Treasurer was Ildefonso Tesorero.
The Succeeding Administrations
The first election for local officials was held on November 1951. Mayor Jose M. Maulion was the first elected Mayor who together with Vice Mayor Felipe Familara and six (6) councilors served for four (4) years, from January 1, 1952- December 31, 1955.
January 1, 1952 - December 31, 1955 (First Elected Officials)
Mayor Jose Mabasa Maulion
Vice Mayor Felipe Familara
Councilmen Pedro Dizon
Sergio Glori, Sr.
Francisco Famero, Sr. was elected Mayor in the succeeding election. Vice Mayor Julian L. Gagani and six (6) municipal councilors served for four (4) years from January 1, 1956 - December 31, 1959.
January 1, 1956 - December 31, 1959
Mayor Francisco Famero, Sr.
Vice Mayor Julian Licerio Gagani
Councilmen Pedro Ganan
Arnaldo S. Fallarme